St Paul’s Award Night for 2018-2019

St Paul’s Secondary School Monasterevin hosted their Annual Awards Night for the academic year 2018-19 on Friday the 8th of November 2019

A large crowd of invited students, parents, staff and sponsors were there to acknowledge the sporting, active student and academic achievements of the students. The evening started with words of congratulations for the students, their teachers and their parents from the school patron, His Grace Bishop Denis Nulty, Principal Brian Bergin, and the Chairperson of the Board of Management, Noel Merrick.



The emcee for the night was Ms Aine Doyle, Head of Science at St Paul’s and she called on last year’s Meitheal leaders awards which were presented by Bishop Denis Nulty. Next up were the students who completed the Gaisce program last year during transition year, they were presened their awards by Miss Dempsey. The prefects from 2018/19 were praised for their assistance during the year and received their trophies from Sister Angela and Mr. Bergin.

Next the  students who had perfect attendance were presented with trophies by the Deputy Principal Mary Mullally.

We also had a special award for DJ O’Toole. He received a Lifetime Achievement for Award 100% attendance from Aug 2013- June 2019, this was presented by a member of TUSLA.



The eagerly anticipated Sports Player of the Year Awards followed and the students who received these were;

in Boys Gaelic Football:     Conor Corrigan  (Senior POY)  Conor Lonergan  (U16 POY)       Conor Perry (U 14 POY)

in Girls Gaelic Football:      Alana Dillon Baker  Senior POY

in Boys Soccer:                     Brian Day (Senior)       Eoghan Connolly (U17),  Cian Reilly ( U15 )

U/15 were runners up in the Leinster competition

In Indoor Boys soccer

3rd Year Winners Darragh Byrnes Team, Runner Up Josh Bannon’s Team

2nd Year Winners Ryan Quinn’s Team, Runners Up Kevin Cleary’s Team

In Boys Basketball                   Mark Kelly ( Senior POY)

Keith Quinn (Cadet POY)

Kealan Merideth (2ND Year POY)

In Girls Basketball:        Jade Lalor (Senior),   Eimear Hanlon (Cadette)       Chloe Kelly (2nd Year).

Fun Run Awards were presented to Senior Students Jack Donnelly and Darcie Murray

And Junior Students Andy Murphy and Kate Connolly

Athlete of the year awards were presented to Aaron Doyle and Kate Connolly

The teachers this year were once again successful in the teacher v student soccer games.

Miss Mahony’s form group were the winners of the Sports day



The B.O.M. Scholarships for Irish were presented by Mr. Noel Merrick to Kerrie and Stacie Dunne and Emily Loughlin.

The Transition Year Spirit Award were awarded to Derbhla Hayes-Fizpatrick for their outstanding commitment and hard work during Transition Year.

The Students of the Year in first, second, transition, and fifth year received cups in recognition of their excellent academic attainment and application to their studies. The well deserving winners were

  • 5th Year SoY: Sarah Duffy, Aleksandra Kieltyka, Emily Loughlin
  • TY SoY:  Eoin O’Gorman and Amy Connolly
  • 2nd Year SoY 2A1: Francesca Callanta    2A2: Kevin Cleary, Emilia Mucha; 2A3: Patrick Evangelio

2nd Yr JCSP     Eir Olan

  • 1st Year SoY 1A1    Luca Gheorghiu

1A2                        Sophie Kenna Poncos

1A3                        Niamh O Connell

1A4                        Charlotte Ledwidge

1st Year JCSP       Christiana Bumbiere, Evan Kemmy

Fifteen Perpetual Cups were presented to last year’s Leaving Certificate students who excelled in each LC subject. The Cups were presented by the Sponsors that were present, and the emcee read out the reason that each student received the cup as testified by their awarding teacher.

Accounting O’Brien Harnett Jade Lalor
Art Maria Connelly Alana Dillon Baker
Biology Nicky O’Neill Kellis Williams
Business Monasterevin Credit Union James Melia Byrne
Chemistry Richard O’Rourke Erin Merideth
Construction Studies Willougbys Rachel Ryan
DCG Enda Coughlan Reece McGann
English Con Henry Eimear Mulhall
French Euro Language Donna Talbot
Geography Noel Maher Stacey Bond
History Alina Tee
Home Economics Super Valu Eirn Merideth
Gaelige Pat Murphy Alina Tee
Maths Folens Dara Lovern
L.C.V.P. Kildangan Stud Dara Lovern
P.E. Fosters Charmain Okwutu
Contribution to the Arts Monasterevin Gospel Choir Eimear Mulhall


Godolphin Bursary

Kildangan Stud have kindly sponsored this bursary which will provide funding of €1500 per annum and a laptop for a 4 year third level course . All 6th Year students were eligible to apply for this bursary. Ken Donoher of Kildangan Stud, presented the bursary to Katie Walsh



The next award presented was the School Spirit Award, which was presented by school Principal Brian Bergin.

Each year an outgoing Leaving Certificate student is acknowledged for the positive impact they make on life at St Paul’s, and this year’s recipient was Alana Dillon Baker



The final awards of the night were the Board of Management Leaving Certificate and Junior Certificate Student of the Year Awards which were presented by Bishop Denis and from B.O.I. Monasterevin, to the students who achieved the highest grades  in the State exams in 2019. The Junior Cert winner was Alex Murphy and JCSP was Maeve Andrews, the Leaving Cert winner was Alina Tee.

awards 3 Awards 2Awards 1

The evening concluded with some light refreshments. We thank all who helped in making it such a great night.




You may also like...