St Paul’s Award Night for 2015-2016

St Paul’s Secondary School Monasterevin hosted their Annual Awards Night for the academic year 2015-16 on Friday the 11th of November 2016.

A large crowd of invited students, parents, staff and sponsors were there to acknowledge the sporting, active student and academic achievements of the students. The evening started with words of congratulations for the students, their teachers and their parents from the school patron  Bishop Denis Nulty and Principal Brian Bergin.



The emcee for the night was teacher Ms Aine Doyle, and she firstly called on last years’ Meitheal leaders and the winners of the John Paul II Awards for their awards which were presented by Bishop Denis Nulty. The prefects from 2015/16 were praised for their assistance during the year and received their trophies from Mr Bergin & Ms Mullally. Those with perfect attendance received trophies to mark their achievement.

St Pauls Awards 11-11-16  (16)

Two Special presentations were made to former teacher Sean Ryan and retired PC treasurer Geraldine Carroll by Bernie O’Gorman, Chairperson of the Parents Council.



The eagerly anticipated Sports Player of the Year Awards followed and the students who received these were;

in Boys Gaelic Football,

Ryan Bannon  (Senior POY)

Darren Prendergast  (U16 POY)

Sean Dunne (U 14 POY)


 in Girls Gaelic Football,

Laura Cleary  (Senior POY)

Clodagh Colgan (U16 POY)


in Boys Soccer,

Evan Foley (Senior POY)

Dylan Kavangh (U17 POY),

Ciaran Byrne (U15 POY)


In Boys Basketball 

Sean Kavanagh  ( Senior POY)

Adam Kavanagh (Cadet POY)

Adam Ryan (2nd Year POY)


The Senior Boys and Cadet Boys basketball team were presented with their Regional Winners medals while the 2nd and 1st year boys team were presented with their Regional Runners-Up medals. In addition the Cadet Boys received their All-Ireland B Cup bronze medals rounding off a hugely successful year for boys basketball where every male student who played basketball won a regional medal


In Girls Basketball,  

sch awards 2Annie Curran (Senior POY),

Jade Lawlor (Cadette POY)

Tori Maher (2nd Year POY).



In addition the Cadette Girls basketball received their Regional Runners Up medals. Senior Player of the Year Annie Curran received the inaugural Senior Girls Basketball Perpetual Cup kindly sponsored by retired teacher Mr Gerry Mahony.

Cross Country Kildare schools silver medals were presented to Clodagh Brophy, Orla Hartigan, Juliette Boland and Christine Worrell. Cross Country awards were presented to Mark Sealey and Darcie Murray.

The Beep test awards for fitness went to both Darren Prendergast and Lauren Kelly for the second year in a row.



The B.O.M. scholarships winners for Irish and French were presented with a school  medal memento by Mr. Noel Merrick, the 5th Year Irish Scholarships medals went to Laura Cleary and Michaela Broughall, 5th Yr French Scholarship medals went to Ciara Fanning Siney and Ella Campi.

The Students of the Year in first, second, transition, and fifth year received cups in recognition of their excellent academic attainment and application to their studies. The well deserving winners were

  • 1st Year SOY          Karolina Gilmartin, Ben Guinan, Conal McGann
  • 1st Yr JSCP SOY    Sophie McHale
  • 2nd Year SOY        Kellis Williams, Katie Walsh
  • 2nd Yr JCSP SOY  Pauric Harrison
  • TY SOY                   Sarah Hanlon, Gabriella Kubiak
  • 5th Year SOY         Hannah Duffy, Laura Cleary

St Pauls Awards 11-11-16  (48) (2)

Sixteen Perpetual Cups were presented to last year’s Leaving Certificate students who excelled in each LC subject. The Cups were presented by the Sponsors that were present, and the emcee read out the reason that each student received the cup as testified by their awarding teacher. They were as follows:

awards sponsors  

Godolphin Bursary 2016-17

 Kildangan Stud have kindly sponsored this bursary which will provide funding of €1500 per annum and a laptop for a 4 year third level course. All 6th Year students were eligible to apply for this bursary. Gerry Duffy, Manager at Kildangan Stud, presented the bursary to Hannah Duffy.



The TY Spirit Award was presented by TY Co-ordinator Paul Marron to Eilis Hogbin.

The next award presented was the School Spirit Award, which was presented by school Principal Brian Bergin.

Each year an outgoing Leaving Certificate student is acknowledged for the positive impact they make on life at St Paul’s, and this year’s recipient was Eoin Cunningham.


Leaving Cert & Junior Cert STUDENT OF THE YEAR

The final awards of the night were the Board of Management Leaving Certificate and Junior Certificate Student of the Year Awards , which were presented by Bishop Denis and Teresa Miley from B.O.I. Monasterevin , to the students who achieved  the highest grades  in the State exams in 2016.

The JCSP Junior Cert winner was Jessica Flynn Campbell

The Junior Cert winner was Alina Tee.

The Leaving Cert winner was Oran Kavanagh.


We thank Mel Doyle (photographer) and all who helped in making it such a great night.

You may also like...